All undergraduate and most taught postgraduate students will be given lists of required or recommended reading and other resources.

You can view the reading lists for your programme and modules by signing into your university account (MUSE).

You will find the lists for your programme via the Reading List link on the left-hand side menu in your Blackboard course. Please contact your module tutor if there is no reading list link or if you have specific questions about recommended reading for your course.

Library Guides,  these useful subject specific guides contain information and resources that you will  need to support your studies.

As students at The University of Sheffield, you can use any of the books, journals and other resources provided by the Library, not just those you need for your course.

A lot of the information you need is available through the digital library - ebooks, ejournals and specialist resources for your subject that you will need as you progress as a student.

To access the full range of library resources, both digital and print, you will need to sign into your university account (MUSE) and then select  StarPlus, the Library catalogue, from the “My services'' menu. 

If a book isn’t available online or the print copies are all out on loan you can request a copy and we’ll let you know when the book is available to be collected.

This comprises the Library’s Special Collections and Archives, the National Fairground and Circus Archive and the University’s Heritage Collections:

The Special Collections is home to over 30,000 rare books, periodicals, and pamphlets and hold over 200 archive collections covering a broad range of subjects of academic interest.

The National Fairground and Circus Archive (NFCA) embodies the history of popular entertainment from the seventeenth century onwards. It covers every aspect of travelling entertainment culture and contextualises its evolution, cross-cultural impact, and global spread and influence.

The Archive provides a primary source of research and teaching material across a range of subject disciplines from the unique viewpoint of the popular entertainment industry.

The Heritage Collection consist of thousands of objects that the University has acquired since its foundation in 1905. Collections include paintings, sculptures, medals, university silver, scientific instruments, and the Glass and Denny museums.